If you’re a patient with a qualifying condition in Florida, you can use marijuana to treat your symptoms. Although the recreational use of marijuana is still illegal in the Sunshine State, Florida has a Medical Marijuana Program that allows patients with certain severe or debilitating conditions to get a medical card. However, patients must be aware of certain rules, including marijuana driving laws in Florida.
Although Medical Marijuana Patients in Florida can legally buy and use marijuana, there are still certain laws regarding where and when they can use it. One of the most important things to keep in mind is that you must never drive while under the influence of marijuana. Doing so is a crime and will be treated the same as driving while drunk. Here’s a breakdown of marijuana driving laws in Florida.
Although recreational marijuana isn’t legal in Florida, the state has a thriving medical marijuana program. Medical marijuana is legal to buy and use in Florida, but only for patients with qualifying conditions who have been approved by a doctor and received their medical card.
The process of getting a medical card in Florida involves booking an appointment with a medical marijuana doctor and providing them with medical records. Patients must have a qualifying condition set by the state, which includes various severe and debilitating conditions.
Once approved by a qualified doctor, patients are placed on the Florida Medical Marijuana Use Registry and can then apply for their Florida medical card. After receiving confirmation of approval and getting their medical card, patients can buy marijuana from legal dispensaries across the state.
Although medical marijuana patients can legally buy and use marijuana for therapeutic purposes, there are still certain laws they must adhere to. While you can have medical marijuana in your vehicle, you must never use marijuana in your vehicle or operate your vehicle while under the influence of marijuana.
This applies to all products with THC. As such, you can’t get behind the wheel if you’ve smoked Marijuana Flower, vaped Marijuana Concentrates, administered THC Tincture, or taken marijuana in any other form. Non-psychoactive CBD products are safe to take provided that they contain 0.3% THC or less.
The psychoactive effects of THC can impair your judgment and ability to focus and driving while high is treated the same as driving while drunk. Even if you only use a small amount and don’t feel that it affects your driving, you could still face serious consequences if you’re caught or if you get into an accident.
There are also certain limits on when and where you can use marijuana. Using medical marijuana in public is forbidden, and you shouldn’t use it in your car even if it’s parked. Using it as a passenger in a moving vehicle is also strictly forbidden. You should only use it in a private residence or property.
Driving while under the influence of marijuana in Florida falls under Drugged Driving. That means that if you’re caught driving high in Florida, you’ll face the same penalties as someone driving while drunk or under the influence of other controlled substances.
Your First Offense is punishable with a fine of $500 to $1,000 and up to 6 months of jail time. Your license will also be suspended for 180 days to a year. Your Second Offense is punishable with a fine of $1,000 to $2,000 and up to 9 months of jail time. Your Third Offense is considered a felony and can net you up to a $5,000 fine and up to 5 years in jail.
Police have the right to search you and carry out urine and/or blood tests if they believe you’re under the influence of controlled substances, and refusal to do so is a first-degree misdemeanor. Police may become suspicious if they notice open containers of marijuana in your car, if you’re driving recklessly, or if they smell marijuana in your car.
If you’re a medical marijuana patient in Florida, it’s perfectly fine to drive with marijuana in your possession. You can transport it from the dispensary to your home or another private property without any issues- just make sure you don’t use it in your vehicle or operate your vehicle after using marijuana.
When driving with marijuana, it’s best to keep it in a safe and private place such as your glove box, boot, or in a bag. It’s best to keep your products sealed in their original packaging or containers until you get home.
If you’re planning to drive with marijuana in your possession, it’s also important that you have your medical card with you as well as your license. Although you’re unlikely to run into any problems, having these things will avoid any issues occurring if you’re asked why you have marijuana in your possession.
While medical marijuana patients can have marijuana in their vehicle to transport it to their home or a friend’s house, you must not travel with marijuana across state lines. Marijuana is still federally illegal in the United States and it’s illegal to travel between states with marijuana in your possession.
Even if you’re traveling to another state where medical marijuana is legal, it’s still illegal to travel with marijuana that you’ve bought in another state. You should only use your products within state lines and make sure you don’t have any marijuana in your car if you plan to cross the border into another state.
Although you won’t be checked for marijuana as you cross state borders, you can find yourself in serious legal trouble if you’re stopped and searched at any point in another state with marijuana in your possession. Avoid this at all costs.
Marijuana is legal to buy and use in Florida, provided that you’re a qualifying patient who has been approved for a medical card. However, driving while under the influence of marijuana is still illegal and you should never use marijuana in your car or before driving.
If you need help getting your medical card in Florida, don’t hesitate to contact My Florida Green. We can help connect you with a qualified medical marijuana doctor in Florida and make the process of getting your medical card as smooth as possible.