Which US States Accept Out-Of-State Medical Marijuana Authorization?
As more and more states begin to legalize the purchase and use of medical marijuana, patients are beginning to wonder if their authorization is recognized by other states. Fortunately, some medical marijuana states do accept and recognize out-of-state authorizations. To help, My Florida Green has put together a detailed list to help you better understand which states recognize other states’ medical marijuana authorizations. The number of states may not be very large right now, but as more states begin to pass legislation, the number will only grow from here.
While Arizona technically recognizes out-of-state medical marijuana authorizations, you unfortunately can’t visit a local state-licensed dispensary. However, as long as you are a registered medical marijuana patient in your state, you can enjoy all that Arizona has to offer without worrying about having your medicine confiscated.
Arizona Possession Limit: 2.5 oz. of usable medical cannabis.
Arkansas has a section of law that is called “Visiting Qualifying Patient”. This means that a patient with a qualifying medical marijuana condition who is NOT a resident or who has been a resident for less than 30 days, and is in actual possession of a registry identification card (or equivalent) under the laws of another state, district, territory, or commonwealth may purchase and use medical marijuana
Arkansas Possession Limit: 2.5 ox. Of usable medical cannabis every 14 days.
District of Columbia (Washington DC)
Effective April, 2018, DC Health is accepting patients from other jurisdictions with a functionally equivalent Medical Marijuana Program.
District of Columbia Possession Limit: Up to 4oz. of usable medical cannabis every 30 days.
To be recognized by Hawaii, out-of-state patients must pay an application fee of $49.50 and register up to 60 days before visiting. Using an online registration system, qualified patients can quickly obtain an electronic registration card. Patients must submit an ID and their medical cannabis registration from their home state. This allows patients to quickly and easily register before arriving, so they can purchase from certified dispensaries.
**The registration card is valid for 60 days, patients can apply twice in a calendar year.**
Hawaii Possession Limit: Up to 4oz of usable medical cannabis for each 15-day period.
New Hampshire is another New England haven that respects out-of-state medical cannabis authorizations. As long as you possess cannabis for medicinal purposes, you will have no issues in New Hampshire.
New Hampshire Possession Limit: Up to 2oz of usable medical cannabis.
As long as the medical cannabis patient’s license, issued by another state, isn’t expired and is the substantial equivalent to the Oklahoma medical marijuana patient licensed issued under OAC 310:681-2-1 and 310:681-2-2, you will have no issue in purchasing and using medical marijuana.
Oklahoma Possession Limit: Up to 3oz. of usable medical marijuana, up to 1oz of cannabis concentrate, up to 72oz of edible cannabis, and up to 8oz of usable medical cannabis within a residence.
If you have an out-of-state medical cannabis authorization, you must abide by the following criteria before you can purchase any medical cannabis in Rhode Island:
Rhode Island Possession Limit: Limited to 2.5oz or an equivalent concentrate form every 15 days, 2.5oz of usable medical cannabis.
While these states do accept “out-of-state” medical marijuana authorizations, it is still up to the discretion of a dispensary owner, particularly in stricter states. This guide is meant to be informative in nature. We recommend calling the dispensaries in advance to ensure that they will allow you to purchase medical marijuana.
MY FLORIDA GREEN was founded to give people suffering from a variety of health conditions fast, easy access to natural medicine that works in a manner synthetic chemicals cannot. Our focus is to deliver premium care and build lasting relationships with our customers by offering the best service in the business.
We have been helping patients navigate the uncharted waters of medical marijuana in Florida since the passing of Amendment 2 in November 2016 and have already helped over 26,000 qualified patients obtain their Florida Medical Marijuana Cards. We have done this by partnering with the most experienced medical marijuana doctors in Florida and building a world-class HIPAA-compliant software platform that empowers medical marijuana patients with education and makes the certification process fast and easy.
Experience the MY FLORIDA GREEN difference by establishing care with a premier medical marijuana doctor today!